Which is the best software for town planning ?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY Which is the best software for town planning ?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Ronya Reitberger
    Participant

I’m a student, and we are currently starting our first town-planning-project in uni.

Now we aren’t sure which software we should use, because until now we know some Autocad, where it will get very tricky to import a digital terrain model, and we know ArcMap, where we won’t be able to display the houses with the accurratness we want to.

One program i thought about is vectorworks. I found a tutorial on digital terrain models on their website, but I didn’t work with this program at all. Would you recommend it for our purposes?

Thanks, Ronya.

Chris Whitted
    Participant

Depending on which version of AutoCAD you’re working with (ie anything other than Civil 3D), yes a terrain model is going to be a challenge.  And depending on your license level (what extensions you have available) then ArcGIS may have its own challenges, but there is absolutely no reason you would not be able to display houses as accurately in Arc as in CAD, especially since you can port between the two.  The real question is what exactly are you trying to do?  Is learning a whole new software package a good use of the time as opposed to the actual town planning intent of the project?  Without knowing the details of what you’re trying to accomplish, if it’s a 3D mock-up or model I’d probably look at SketchUp first and not worry about it being photo-realistic.

Ronya Reitberger
    Participant