Who pays for LARE?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Ana Natalia
    Participant

hello,

I am trying to decide on whether to take LARE or not and one of the most important questions for me is who usually pays for it? I’ve heard from several people from this industry that they were sponsored by their employers. I’ve been working for this company for a year now and, originally, my employers encouraged me to submit an application to become an intern, they also paid all the fees necessary for the application. However, several months later when I mentioned the exams, I was told that only 50% of all the expenses related to the exams would be covered by the company, that excludes the cost of the workshops or study material as well as the travel costs (and I’ll have to travel by air to take the exams).

I figured that this might be too costly for me at the moment as I’m a young professional, even with 50%  covered by the employer. So, I was just wondering how this LARE financing usually works in North America? Should I go for it immediately  as this is a great opportunity or should I wait for some time and see what happens?

Thank you for your feedback. (Sorry for my English if it sounds strange, I’m not a native speaker). 

Mark Di Lucido
    Participant

One firm I worked at didn’t pay for exam related costs but gave a $2500 per year raise when you became registered. I thought this was an equitable method as it was a decent reward/reimbursement but you had to stay at the firm to receive it thus benefiting owner and employee. Of course that was back when the economy was booming. The firm I work for now pays neither LA exams nor professional dues and I suspect more firms currently lean this way. I’m sure the answers you get on this will be all over the place but the funding scenario you describe sounds very generous especially if they pay for training and travel–take advantage of it!

Dave McCorquodale
    Participant