AutoCAD Cert. before applying to MLA programs?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION AutoCAD Cert. before applying to MLA programs?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    dsawler
    Participant

Is it worth doing an autoCAD certificate program my last year of undergrad (my degree is in liberal arts) before apply to MLA programs? I thought it might give me a little advantage over those who have an undergrad degree in a liberal arts program like I do.

Any thoughts? It would run me about $1600 — think it’s worth it?

nca
    Participant

I nearly completed an associates in Architectural Drafting at a community college, which entailed much instruction on the nuances of AutoCAD (2002 at the time). In 2005 I returned to CSU to complete my BSLA. The classes I took at the community college did not transfer credits, but I believe I had a sizeable advantage over many of the other students with my CAD training. It also opens the door for internship opportunities, more so I think, than knowing Photoshop, etc. If you can manage the $1600 and get a comprehensive working knowledge of Cad I’d say go for it. If nothing else, it could get your foot in the door as an intern while in school.

dsawler
    Participant

Thanks for the thoughts.

Any other suggestions to get a leg up on other applicants?

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

Hey Dsawler,

You can download a 30-day trial version, here.
    You can also get a free student version of Land F/X to go with it, here.

nca
    Participant

I agree with the last two posts on learning yourself. Still, this will only take you so far. Learning how to manage xrefs and other office standards will be important later.

I’m using landfx now at work 🙂