How To: Planting Plan Tricks?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums TECHNOLOGY How To: Planting Plan Tricks?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author

Hello all,

I was wandering if there is an easier way to place plants in a given (irregular) area, and have them spaced evenly apart. For example i have a given plant material that needs to be 15″ on center.  I usually set an array path and let it follow each outside edge but this still is imperfect and requires alot of adjusting to get the plants lined up correctly.  If anyone has any tricks let me know it would help me out a ton.  Thanks

I do see how this in “real life” scenarios makes sense.  I ask for organization purposes.  I am new to the profession. (2 weeks in) and was just wondering if there is a faster and efficient way to do this.  But I do understand your point.  Thank you!

Andrew Spiering
    Participant

Hi Matthew,

Great question!  Assuming you are using AutoCAD?  I primarily used the array command to layout plant material.  Another tool to consider is the measure command (me) which allows you to set blocks along any line.  Check out the tutorial below (measure command starts around 4:30):

If you are trying to fill an area with plants, then you just offset each line based on your spacing, then run the measure command on each.  If you are on AutoCAD, I recommend using Land F/X.  They have an amazing tool that takes the hassle out of creating planting plans.  Two other great solutions are Dynascape and Vectorworks.

Also, you can move so much faster with  hotkeys than pointing and clicking tools on the ribbon.  You may also want to check out this discussion – there are some great tips shared related to planting.  

Hope this helps!

Jeffery
    Participant

Brian,

What scale will you be plotting at?

Chris Lazarek
    Participant

Buy LandFX

Paul Deering
    Participant