I Always Knew This Day Would Come…

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION I Always Knew This Day Would Come…

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Thomas J. Johnson
    Participant

Landscape Architects have become irrelevant… Home and Garden Magazine has a free software feature on their website that enables anyone to design like a pro. Look what I just did in 15min…

Not only that but I got a whole years subscription to H&G for only $5.99. LAM eat your heart out. Where do we go from here…?

Matthew Anders, PLA
    Participant

haha

Anonymous
    Inactive

This will be a money generator for LAs. After homeowners spend $40,000 for a landscape that looks like crap that they designed, they’ll be begging for professional help.

I think my phone is ringing right now.

Ryland Fox
    Participant

If I get this and the ipad house design app I am all set.

mark foster
    Participant

Hey, that’s my house!  I wondered where my giant ice cube was…..

Wes Arola, RLA
    Participant

You bring up a threatening issue – there are plenty of programs like this and uneducated people capable of developing cheesy backyard designs. The ignorance of the common person about what a landscape architect is legally capable of producing is something that we as a profession will always battle. The truth is, it is hard to explain what we really do – unless you have some projects that you have worked on to impress them for example ‘ I worked on a billion dollar water park in Dubai’ rather than ‘ I designed my neighbors backyard’. Is it the word landscape? Maybe, but for some reason telling that girl you met in a bar that you are a civil engineer will get her attention a lot faster than telling her that you are a landscape architect….

Roland Beinert
    Participant

I thought we were already irrelevant before this. Can’t architects or engineers just shrub up a site plan by themselves? No need to hire an extra consultant.