Student looking for unique ways to indicate grasslands, meadows and prairies

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GRAPHICS Student looking for unique ways to indicate grasslands, meadows and prairies

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Cal
    Participant

I am a beginning student learning to hand draw landscape graphics of plans (bird’s eye views).  I’m not very happy with some of the drawing examples I’ve seen that are supposed to be representative of large areas of grasses, varied prairie plants and meadow landscapes.  They just aren’t’ interesting and definitely don’t provide the feel of those kinds of spaces.  This can be represented better in elevations, but I’m looking for examples of overhead plans that go beyond the usual series of circles and dots to show the textures, colors and variety of these areas.   Xeriscaping and vast swaths of native plants and grasslands are all the rage in my corner of the world, so I expect this will come up often.  If you have any advice or graphics to share I’d be so appreciative. 

Frank Varro
    Participant

I started a series of Photoshop tutorials a ways back, I didn’t get to prairie type areas, but the same techniques I used for turf-grass and dirt should work.

Turf: http://land8lounge.com/profiles/blogs/tuesday-tutorial-turf-and

Dirt: http://land8lounge.com/profiles/blogs/tuesday-tutorial-time-to-get

I did do a phase of this design with prairie type grasses, it came out like this:

Its not the final render with trees, and you may be looking for more of a hand graphic idea, but this is the best I was able to come up with in my experimentation.

Cal
    Participant