Urban Agriculture Graduate Research

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums RESEARCH Urban Agriculture Graduate Research

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Tipton Fowlkes
    Participant

I am a third year MLA student at NCSU and I am developing a research project for the fall semester based on design’s role in the development of urban agriculture.  There are several ways I’m considering approaching the topic, including: What business models can support a practice based specifically on the consultation of urban ag design — How can designers fold farming into community spaces in order to create a more sustainable (in terms of motivated users) model —  How can LAs team up with product designers to create products which allow individuals to farm in small spaces?  

Can any professionals who are working in this area give some advice as to what questions need answering? Perhaps I haven’t landed on the right one yet. My aim is to be the person in my firm who is most knowledgeable about how we apply our skills to this topic.  Who is pushing the boundaries in this sector?

William Tietje
    Participant

Tipton,
    Hi my name is Will Tietje. I recently graduated from LSU spending my last year doing a capstone project on a very very similar project, I called it “Viable agricultural solutions” but it’s pretty much the same thing your looking at. I would definitely be interested in talking more with you about the subject, first question being where do you wanna begin!

Jon Quackenbush
    Participant

I believe this is called community gardening.

Contact Capital District Community Gardens in Troy, Ny.  They are the oldest organization of its kind in the United States.  they manage over 70 garden sites throughout the Capital District with hundreds of gardeners.  My wife is a garden organizer there.

Not really the purview of a Landscape Architect per se, it is more of a non-profit grass roots type movement.

Rick Kingsbury