What Firms Are Looking For in Student Portfolios

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums GENERAL DISCUSSION What Firms Are Looking For in Student Portfolios

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Juan Antonio Lopez
    Participant

Hi,  I am currently a 4th year undergraduate of Landscape Architecture at Cal Poly Pomona and I was wondering what exactly firms are looking for in a student’s portfolio.  Also what can I do get an edge over other applicants.  Do firms prefer more digital or hand drawn work?  What about group work?  Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Clayton H. Dent
    Participant

When I interviewed for my internship which I’m doing right now, it seemed that they looked for a variety of all that. Shows that you are not just one dimensional. Group work shows that you can work with others which i good, and i used both digital and hand drawn drawings as well as show models and how you can take a project from start to finish. A lot of it kind of depends on the firm though. I’m only doing hand drawings for this firm, so they probably did not care about my computer work to much. But for the edge, just be able to show as much experience with as many things as you can.

Daniel Miller
    Participant