Start-up Company

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    Glenn Sovie
    Participant

Hey all,

I am in the process of starting a small landscape design company, I am just wondering if any of you have any tips on the best ways to go about things.

When should we become and LLC/Inc.?
    Writing up contracts, as opposed to verbal agreements.
    Becoming Insured.
    ect.

I plan on doing the design, build, and maintain type of thing. Right now I am just a guy with a pickup truck, so I plan on keeping things to verbal agreements and cash until I develop a little report.

I have my LA Degree from UMass Amherst. I would love to find my way into a firm someday, but this is going to pay the bills for now.

All comments/suggestions are appreciated.

James Sipes
    Participant

Become “official” … when I formed my company I decided on an LLC.
    Get professional liability insurance immediately. There is a reason all firms have it. In addition, if you are a sub to another firm they will most likely require it. Any design/build firm should be insured.
    And always use a written contract, even if it is a one pager. It clears up potential misunderstandings.

Rob Halpern
    Participant

Contracts…definitely contracts.

http://clientsfromhell.net/

Altho this site is stories from web designers and graphic designers, you’ll see the horror tales of clients who re-invent the understanding after the work is done.

Dane K. Spencer
    Participant

Hey James,

Good to see you here. I’ve lost a residential client because I sent them the short version of the ASLA contract. It scared them. What can you recommend in this case?

nca
    Participant

Hey Glenn,

I think you’re talking about starting a residential design-build, in which case, realistically, your first few clients at least will be on the smaller scale. Taking that into consideration, I wouldn’t overcomplicate the situation.