The new LARE: Section 3. Thoughts and study topics

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE The new LARE: Section 3. Thoughts and study topics

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Eric Galvin
    Participant

Decided to take Section 3 now that the new formatting is done. Here is a link to the video that shows a sample question. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vggoziBoz9M&t=3m19s Basically it looks like the old test, without the drawing part…so not the old test at all. Now we are almost in the roll of the tester, having to decide on what parts of the drawing are done correct and incorrect, as well as placing site elements.

Basically, im trying to figure out what to be competent in. I have lots of experience with site layout stuff, planning for residential neighborhoods, shops and commercial areas, day cares, schools,etc., so i am not too scared of the test, but i would like to lay down my thoughts and ideas of what to study for and what subjects will come up. CLARB’s list is interesting:

• Synthesize Site Opportunities and Constraints
    • Refine Program
    • Create Design Alternatives
    • Analyze Design Alternatives
    • Develop Concept Narrative
    • Refine Conceptual Design(s)
    • Prepare Conceptual Renderings

the rest: https://www.clarb.org/Candidates/Documents/CLARB-LARE-2012-Exam-Specifications.pdf