BIM in Landscape Architecture

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    Randy Royer
    Participant

Is there anyone out there incorporating BIM into their practice of Landscape Architecture?

Ryland Fox
    Participant

I don’t have a practice so it is all experimentation but I have been using and teaching Digital Projects for a couple of years. Also Grasshopper for Rhino (which is probably the most fun) and to some extent Archicad.

I have said it a few times on here, BIM and parametric software will be the industry standard in the future so it is worth trying to understand and learn it now. Because the point of the software is to incorporate all aspects of a project into one model LA’s will be left behind in collaborative work if we don’t pick it up. The ASLA paper that come out last year about BIM was ok but didn’t really go into the power of BIM and how to use it as a design tool.

Randy Royer
    Participant

Thanks for the reply. I read the ASLA paper and thought the same thing. I am interested in how to actually make it work…

We are a multi-discipline firm (Arch and LA). The Architects are are getting into it and I think we need to be able to integrate better with them. They are using Revit. I will look into Rhino.

Ryland Fox
    Participant

Revit is similar to Archicad. They are both basically building tools and can be useful but haven’t really been developed for landscape yet. That isn’t to say they can’t be used for landscape as I have used Archicad before and found it to be pretty good.

BIM and parametrics is all in the relationships. You really end up manipulating space and relationship to other objects as well as the object itself. Revit is basically components you insert into a design that have information built into them, so what needs to happen is the development and inclusion of a set of landscape objects for site engineering and design.

SherifMorad
    Participant