Can I apply for MLA programs or jobs in LA?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums EDUCATION Can I apply for MLA programs or jobs in LA?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 39 total)
  • Author
    Omar Boubess
    Participant

Hello everyone! I am currently in my final semester studying at Concordia University in Montreal, Canada. I have a specialization in Computer Arts(very broad program including sound design, 3D, interactive art, etc..) and a minor in Sustainability Studies. I was thinking of applying for Masters programs in sustainable design(of products) but I am realizing more and more that I want to work with materials on a larger scale while applying principles of sustainability in LA. Would I be able to apply/get into masters programs without a bachelors degree in the subject? Also, would I be able to apply to firms, even at entry level/internships? 

I have bought a few books on sketching/landscape graphics and have a bit of experience with Sketchup/Maya and will continue to learn on my own and try to build a portfolio of projects by myself.

Thanks in advance 🙂 

Jason T. Radice
    Participant

Yes, most schools offer a track for students that do not have an undergraduate degree in landscape architecture. It is usually a three year full time program. You might be able to get an internship or even an entry level job, but not necessarily doing pure LA work, but you would be extremely valuable for your graphics and can try to pick up some LA knowledge while you are there. It sounds like you already have a good knowledge of design, and as I like to say a good designer can design just about anything once they “get it” as to what they are to design.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi Omars,