LARE test: Who takes it and who decides not to?

Landscape Architecture for Landscape Architects Forums PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE LARE test: Who takes it and who decides not to?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    Deryn Davidson
    Participant

I’m a recent MLA grad and have been thinking about the LARE and becoming registered. I know many people that have successful careers in the field that made the decision to not become registered. I would love to hear from professionals (who are and who are not registered) what the advantages/disadvantages are of going in either direction.

Thanks!! 

Tosh K
    Participant

If you want to be involved in the building of spaces, it’s good to be licensed in that it demonstrates to clients that you have at least a minimum competency in the field to maintain public health, safety and welfare.  It’s becoming increasingly difficult to do design and build without a license.

If you are a stellar designer and can find a licensed professional to review and stamp your designs and/or work on designs where a stamp is not needed, then you could choose to forgo a license.  You will, of course, be expected to compensate that professional for their liability.  Relatively few firms are large enough to have ‘design’ tracks where licensure is not needed.

Generally if you work in areas where you are involved with other professionals, the lack of a license raises questions about minimal competency unless you’ve demonstrated your expertise in higher profile areas (read you’ll be expected to be a high profile figure in design or academia).  It’s not at all difficult, so it’s fair they raise an eyebrow.

Wyatt Thompson, PLA
    Participant